Contact us

Newton Prize for UK-India Partnership

Solar energy research project wins EPSRC prize
EPSRC logo

The APEX-II project team has won the first Newton Prize which was announced on 1st November 2017 in New Delhi. The team included Professor Neil Robertson.

The Newton-Bhabha APEX-II programme is a flagship project in solar energy between India and the UK, building on the achievements of an earlier programme that focuses on addressing the challenges of perovskite solar cells (PSC), which utilise perovskites, a class of easily-synthesisable and cost effective materials. This has proved successful in terms of efficiency and costs but has shown materials and device instability from ambient humidity and oxygen in the air.

The Newton Prize is an annual £1 million fund awarded for the best research or innovation that promotes the economic development and social welfare of developing countries. Minister for Universities, Science and Research Jo Johnson and Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, Chair of the Newton Prize Committee and President of the Royal Society, present the winner with their award today at the National Science Centre in New Delhi, where all shortlisted projects for the Prize for India showcased their work.

More Information

Monday, November 6, 2017