Contact us

School Autumn Prizes Ceremony

The School held its Autumn Prizes Ceremony in October with prizes being presented to continuing students as well as students who had significant achievements noted by the School Prizes Committee.
The autumn prize winners

Introducing the ceremony, Professor Michael Seery, Director of Teaching in the School, congratulated all winners and noted that the 2019/2020 ceremony was one of special celebration, as the School would be marking both the 100th year since the building of the Joseph Black Building as well as the first graduates of the Chemistry 2020 degree programmes.

Prizes were awarded to students who received top marks across years (Class Medals), top marks in elective courses (Class Certificates), and best achievement in laboratory courses, including the Hamish McNab memorial prize for best performance in Chemistry 4P. Prizes were also presented to students who showed substantial personal achievements, and a prize for the best publication featuring a major contribution from an undergraduate student, which was awarded to Alice Dearle, who published her work with Professor Brechin in Angewandte Chemie.

The 2019 Autumn Prizes Ceremony celebrated the achievements of the following students:

Class Medals

  • Chemistry 1 Prize and Crum Brown Medal: Kacper Patej
  • Chemistry 2 Prize and Class Medal: Adam Mclauchlan
  • Chemistry 3 Prize and Class Medal: Finlay Clarke
  • Chemical Physics 3 Prize and Class Medal: Thomas Gill
  • 4th Year Masters Prize and Class Medal: Daniel Dewar
  • 4th Year Placement Prize and Class Medal: Wilson Wu
  • MSc Prize: Yiyun Jin

Course Certificates

  • Biological Chemistry 1A: Lewis Strachan & Danilo Negro
  • Biological Chemistry 1B: Ana Zupanic & Andrejs Makarovs
  • Chemistry for Chemical Engineers: Georgiou Vasilis
  • Environmental Chemistry 2: Adam Mclauchlan
  • Materials Chemistry 2: Thomas Winbolt
  • Chemistry for Life Sciences 2: Maria De La Torre Barranco & Mona Khodary

Laboratory Prizes

  • 1st Year Chemistry Laboratory Prize: Kira Mulcahy
  • 2nd Year Chemistry Laboratory Prize: Jack Mansell
  • Year 3 Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory Prize: Julia Zhao
  • Year 3 Organic Chemistry Laboratory Prize: Clarissa Donna
  • Year 3 Physical Chemistry Laboratory Prize: Stuart Duncan
  • Hamish McNab Memorial Prize: Isabel He

Student Achievements

  • Oxford University Press Achievement in Chemistry Prize: Leo Igoe
  • Prestigious Publication Prize: Alice Dearle
  • Outstanding Contribution Prize: Mohamed Katish
  • Prize for Personal Achievement: James Whitelegge
Tuesday, November 5, 2019