Contact us

Seven Edinburgh Leadership Awards

Students awarded for outreach activities
Mohamed Katish at a science stall

Seven students from the School of Chemsitry recently received The Edinburgh Award (Leadership) for Chemistry Community Building. Undergraduate students who held the Edinburgh Award for Chemistry Outreach and Public Engagement and postgraduate taught and research students were eligible to take part.

This year the following students achieved the award:

  • Sergio Adan Bermudez (PGR)
  • Jessica Cooney (5th year, ug)
  • Mohamed Katish (4th year, ug)
  • Milda Lebedyte (4th year, ug)
  • Zena Younes (3rd year, ug)
  • Vesela Zarkina (4th year, ug)
  • Karolina Zieba (3rd year, ug)

Students led various chemistry-based outreach, public engagement, and widening participation activities between October 2018 and June 2019. These activities focused on the design and delivery of activities focused on promoting Chemistry in communities around Scotland. It involved designing and running drop-in sessions by the students to members of the general public, including schools outreach and at science festivals.

The students also developed widening participation projects outside of the School of Chemistry, such as the Chem Ambassadors scheme. Within the School of Chemistry the students focused on student retention and success through various schemes, such as AcFams, Chemmunity and ChemSoc. The skills developed through the Award are translatable to other areas of the students' lives.

Tuesday, September 17, 2019