Contact us

Two School of Chemistry academics awarded Chancellor’s Fellowships

Two Christina Miller Fellows awarded Chancellor's Fellowships
School of Chemistry Logo

The School of Chemistry is delighted to announce that Dr Claire Hobday and Dr Toni Mey have both been awarded highly competitive Chancellor’s Fellowships. Both recipients were previously holders of the prestigious School of Chemistry Christina Miller Fellowship

The University of Edinburgh is committed to providing exceptional career opportunities for talented early career researchers. At this time of uncertainty, the University is investing in a cohort of 30 tenure track Chancellor’s Fellows, drawn from researchers already working at the University. The Chancellor's Fellowships are a prestigious 5-year tenure track programme. They are designed to support early career researchers and innovators to develop their careers in a supportive, world-leading environment. 

The Fellows will be recruited as a cohort and be supported to achieve their research and other academic career ambitions through mentoring, peer support and training opportunities. This will be in addition to support provided by senior staff in the School of Chemistry.

I'm delighted to be awarded the Chancellor's Fellowship within the School of Chemistry. This award will allow me to build on preliminary research, from my Christina Miller Research Fellowship, on understanding phase changes in materials for solid-state refrigeration and develop my long-term vision of the field. I'm really happy to have the opportunity to continue working with my fantastic Edinburgh Chemistry colleagues and look forward to meeting the cohort of Chancellor's Fellows from around the university.

Dr Claire Hobday

I am thrilled that through having been awarded the Chancellor’s Fellowship within the School of Chemistry, I will be able to continue my research combining biomolecular modelling and AI to tackle challenges around antimicrobial resistance. The fellowship will give me the opportunity to contribute to the excellent research environment and work alongside wonderful colleagues in the School and the wider university.

Dr Toni Mey

I am delighted that both Claire Hobday and Toni Mey have both been awarded Chancellor’s Fellowships in the School of Chemistry. This is great news for them and great news for the School!

Professor Colin Pulham, Head of School of Chemistry

Wednesday, December 16, 2020