Contact us

Equality and Diversity

Inclusion and Diversity Prize

Congratulations to Dr Stephen Moggach, the winner of the Head of College prize for Inclusion and Diversity.

Stephen has been recognised for his work in organising our Athena Swan submissions over the last few years and leads our Equality and Diversity Team.

Prof. Lesley Yellowlees, Head of the College of Science and Engineering, congratulated the winners, saying "The calibre of the applications was simply outstanding which presented the judges with quite a challenge to choose a winner."

MSP Visits Chemistry

The equality and diversity team in the school recently hosted a visit from Annabelle Ewing MSP, Minister for Youth and Women???s Employment.

Annabelle's visit was part of a programme of events recognising International Women???s Day (8th March 2016). Annabelle was interested in visiting chemistry to learn about our Gold Athena SWAN award, and we were delighted to show her around and chat to her about the positive impact our equality and diversity team has had on the school.

Athena SWAN Gold Award

The School of Chemistry has become only the second ever recipient of an Athena SWAN Gold award. The award is given for excellence in the advancement and promotion of the careers of women in science, engineering and technology (SET). Athena SWAN requires award holders to put in place policies to promote equality in areas such as organisational culture, work-life balance and promotion policies.