Contact us


IR Facilities Opened To School Pupils

The School of Chemistry recently offered teaching lab access to advanced higher students who are undertaking their projects. Recently, a local school requested to use our IR facilities. The pupils were met by members of our public outreach team of Dom Cairns-Gibson, Kieran Nicholson Emily Xu and were given a demonstration on the use of the IR spectrometer. They were then able to run their own samples and collect data for their projects.

Bute Visits Continue

The Edinburgh University outreach team visited Rothesay on 21st and 22nd January to run their regular science workshops for S3 and S1 at the school and hold a Science Evening at Rothesay Castle on the 21st, as part of the Baird of Bute Inspiring Science programme. The visit was financed with generous support from Afton Chemicals.

Midlothian Science Festival 2019

The Public Engagement team had a busy time during the Midlothian Science Festival this year. We devised a chemistry-themed room for the Games Night: Escape Rooms and ran glitter shaker workshops at Gorebridge Library and IKEA. The team were also at the Fun Science Gala Day at Penicuik Library and the Tiny Tots Gala Day! Thanks to the team at Midlothian Science Festival for coordinating such a wonderful community festival.

Macramé Periodic Table

Jane Stewart is the daughter of two University of Edinburgh School of Chemistry PhD alumni. She has created a unique celebration of the International Year of the Periodic Table (IYPT2019) – in the form of a macramé version of one of the most influential achievements in modern science.

The extraordinary feat took Jane a staggering 350 hours and features 200,000 knots, which she completed at her Guildford home. Jane is a university of Surrey biochemistry graduate.

Seven Edinburgh Leadership Awards

Seven students from the School of Chemsitry recently received The Edinburgh Award (Leadership) for Chemistry Community Building. Undergraduate students who held the Edinburgh Award for Chemistry Outreach and Public Engagement and postgraduate taught and research students were eligible to take part.

This year the following students achieved the award: