Contact us

Personal Achievements

Nobel Prize for Edinburgh Alumnus

Professor Sir Fraser Stoddart, Professor Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Professor Bernard L Feringa have been awarded this year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their work on molecular machines.

Professer Sir Fraser Stoddart studied Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh, receiving his undergraduate degree in 1964 and his PhD in 1966. He was also awarded a DSc degree by the University in 1980 for his research into stereochemistry beyond the molecule, was named Edinburgh's Alumnus of the Year in 2005 and knighted in 2006.

Bridge Success for Student

Yvonne Wiseman, a 1st year chemistry student, was on the Scottish Team that won the Lady Milne Trophy at the weekend (the home nations championship for women's teams in bridge). Yvonne is one of the youngest-ever members of a winning team in that competition. Yvonne will also represent Scotland in the European Championships in Dublin later this year. Well done Yvonne!

CBE for Professor Yellowlees

Professor Lesley Yellowlees, who is now Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Science and Engineering, was awarded a CBE for services to chemistry in the New Year's Honours List.

Professor Yellowlees became the first female President of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2012. Her research interests are inorganic electrochemistry, spectroelectrochemistry, electron transfer reactions and EPR spectroscopy.

Professor Yellowlees was awarded an MBE in 2005 for services to science.

Chemistry at the Commonwealths

Corrie Scott competed in the 50m breaststroke, winning bronze and breaking the Scottish record in the process. Richard Schafers got to the semi-finals of the 50m freestyle and narrowly missed out on a 4x100m medal, with the Scottish quartet finishing 4th.

The pair were part of an elite group of athletes from The University of Edinburgh who competed for Team Scotland at this year's games. 3 of the students in the team won medals.

Countdown Octochamp Competing on Monday

Innis Carson, a fourth year undergraduate student in the School of Chemistry has won his first round of the special 30th Birthday Countdown. Championship, beating series 41 winner Adam Gillard by a score of 116-91. During the heat Innis managed to use a chemistry word (sulfates) in one of the letter rounds!

Previously, Innis was an octochamp on Countdown in 2009, winning all eight of his heat games in series 61.