Contact us


Focus on: Computational Drug Design

Chemistry in Focus (Sofia Bariami, Iain Prentice, Kyle Acheson, Angie Mat’usová, and Dr. Antonia Mey) are excited to share their second video showcasing more of the exciting work being done by PhD students in the School of Chemistry. The video features Sofia Bariami’s work on developing force-fields for use in computational drug design in collaboration with the Cole Group at Newcastle, which was recently published in the Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling.

Dr Brian R. Phillips PhD Scholarships Announced

The Dr Brian R. Phillips PhD Scholarships for Chemistry Research will fund UK students with the greatest academic potential. The programme commences in the 2021/22 academic year and will benefit a new student each year.

The first Dr Brian R. Phillips Scholarship recipient, Andrew Clark, a current final year undergraduate at Edinburgh, has been selected by the School of Chemistry Postgraduate Committee. He will join the Lusby group to research the development of novel radio-pharmaceuticals.

Stoddart Prize 2021

Nikola Zotev is the winner of this year's Norma and Fraser Stoddart Prize. Nikola studied for his PhD in the research group of Dr Adam Kirrander.

Stoddart Prize winners are expected not only to have demonstrated superior research accomplishments throughout their time at Edinburgh but they should also have contributed to the life of students within the School of Chemistry and beyond.

PhD Student's Paper Published in Chemistry, a European Journal

Shona Richardson, a postgraduate student from the Campopiano group, has had an article published in Chemistry, A European Journal.

The paper, titled "The Role of Early‐Career Chemists in European Policy‐Making", was written with help from the European Young Chemistry Network and the European Chemical Society. Their aim is to create a platform for early‐career chemists in policy advice.

Shona's research project is funded by the Derek Stewart Trust.