Contact us


Doctors of the Future

Some of our OPTIMA students have starred in a documentary made by the Royal Society of Medicine with ITN productions called "Doctors of the Future".

The documentary shows how EPSRC funding of healthcare technologies via Centres for Doctoral Training ensures cross disciplinary work. This helps create new innovations for future doctors by bringing the various disciplines closer together.

You can see a segment of the full programme below:

Two Prizes at Electrochemistry Symposium

Congratulations to Victoria Camus from Dr Colin Campbell's group who won the best student speaker prize, and to Andrew Piper of Prof. Andrew Mount's group, who won a poster prize at the RSC Butler Electrochemistry Symposium today in Glasgow University.

The one-day symposium gave researchers from across Scotland and the North of England to meet with their peers and present the results of their research in any field related to electrochemistry.

TransMed Conference

The TransMed Student Conference was on the 31st May-1st June, and was organised by Optima students for PhD students studying physical sciences with an application to healthcare.

We had students from all around the UK. The speakers were Prof. Tony James from Bath University, Prof. AP De Silva from Queen's University Belfast, Dr Ruchi Gupta from the University of Hull, and Stuart Cantrill the Chief Editor of Nature Chem.

Chemical Cultures

The School of Chemistry recently ran a Chemical Cultures event. This was designed to bring together our staff and students from different countries and showcase food and drink from each.

Fifteen different countries were represented at the food stalls and around ten teams took part in the quiz in what proved to a be a vibrant and successful evening.

We look forward to hosting more in the future!

Higher Education Academy Fellow

Recent PhD graduate Nicola Bell has been accepted as a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy as a result of the teaching experience she gained during her doctoral studies in the School of Chemistry.

Nicola was one of the first recipients of the PhD development scholarship in Teaching in Higher Education, a precursor to the Principals development scholarships, which provides for PhD students to gain experience tutoring and lecturing have involvement in designing courses, writing and marking exams. 

Stoddart Prize 2014

Dr Anne Thielbeer (n??e Hansen) is the winner of the 2014 Stoddart Prize. Anne did her PhD in the Bradley group and is now working in industrial R&D in Austria, on development of inkjet inks for food packaging/medical applications/3D printing.

Stoddart Prize winners are expected not only to have demonstrated superior research accomplishments throughout their time at Edinburgh but they should also have contributed to the life of students within the School of Chemistry and beyond.