Contact us

Prizes and Awards

Athena SWAN Gold Award

The School of Chemistry has become only the second ever recipient of an Athena SWAN Gold award. The award is given for excellence in the advancement and promotion of the careers of women in science, engineering and technology (SET). Athena SWAN requires award holders to put in place policies to promote equality in areas such as organisational culture, work-life balance and promotion policies.

Outstanding Referee

Each year around 140 out of 48000 active referees from around the world are recognised in this way. The selection of Outstanding Referees was made based on 25 years of records on over 80,000 referees who have been called upon to review manuscripts by APS.

Refereeing is a difficult and time-consuming task and we are pleased to see Philip being recognised for his contribution.

Euan Brechin Elected FRSE

Fellows are elected following a rigorous five-stage election process, and play an important role in ensuring that the RSE can continue its work for the advancement of learning and useful knowledge. Amongst its wide range of activities the Royal Society of Edinburgh provides: independent advice to Government and Parliament; research and enterprise Fellowships; education programmes for young people; conference and events aimed at both public engagment and specialists.

Euan, Professor of Coordination Chemistry, is one of 47 new UK and International Fellows.

RSC Tilden Prize

The prize is in recognition of her "highly significant, ground-breaking contributions in the chemistry and nanoscience of fullerene and atomic cluster dynamical properties, femtosecond laser ablation and carbon nanotubes."

Fellow EaStCHEM researcher Prof. Steven Nolan was also awarded one of the three prizes.

The Tilden Prize is an annual award given to researchers for advances in chemistry.

ACS Openeye Award

Four awards are given and are designed to assist new faculty members in gaining visibility within the computational chemistry community and provide support to attend the ACS Fall Meeeting.

The award was given for Julien's presentation entitled "Quantifying biomolecular hydration thermodynamics".

The Fall Meeting takes place in Indianapolis in September.

Sir Fraser and Norma Stoddart Prize

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the first ever Fraser and Norma Stoddart PhD Prize is Dr Olof Johansson.

This is the first year the prize has been presented. It is awarded to a PhD graduate who has shown not only excellence in research but contributed to the life of students within the School.

Olof will be presented with the prize by Professor Sir Fraser Stoddart on 27 June, on the occasion of Sir Fraser's public lecture at the Tercentenary Celebration.