Contact us

Prizes and Awards

Sir Fraser and Norma Stoddart Prize

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the first ever Fraser and Norma Stoddart PhD Prize is Dr Olof Johansson.

This is the first year the prize has been presented. It is awarded to a PhD graduate who has shown not only excellence in research but contributed to the life of students within the School.

Olof will be presented with the prize by Professor Sir Fraser Stoddart on 27 June, on the occasion of Sir Fraser's public lecture at the Tercentenary Celebration.

Sir William Darling Memorial Prize

Sarah Thomas has been awarded this year's Sir William Darling Memorial Prize.

This is awarded to a student at the University of Edinburgh who by example, scholarship or pre-eminence in sport has done most to advance or enhance the reputation of the University.

The prize was awarded for Sarah's work in engaging the local community with real research taking place in the School of Chemistry.

The prize will be awarded at the Freshers Welcoming ceremony on 12th September at the McEwan Hall.

Best Presentation Award

Nicholle Bell (University of Edinburgh) and Matthew Renshaw (Cambridge University) have been jointly awarded best presentation prize at this year's Royal Society of Chemistry NMR Discussion Group postgraduate meeting held in the School of Chemistry on June 20.

They will now each present their work at the December 2013 NMR DG meeting in London.

Poster Prize

Well done to Nina Chadwick for winning the (only) poster prize at the conference "Transforming Materials Chemistry" at St Andrews earlier this week. The conference had a stellar list of speakers and it was great for an Edinburgh contribution to be highlighted in front of the international assembly.

High Pressure Research Award

Dr Stephen Moggach has been awarded this year's European High Pressure Research Group Award for his research on Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs) under extreme conditions.

The award is given each year to a promising young scientist carrying out high pressure research in any scientific discipline. Stephen received it for his work on the modification of the properties of porous materials through compression of their pore size and shape.