Contact us

Prizes and Awards

Best Talk Prize

Congratualtions to Jamie Purkis, a PhD student in the Love/Arnold group, who won first prize at the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority PhD Seminar, held in Manchester in January.

Jamie won for his talk entitled "Polyoxo Actinide Chemistry". The research is funded by the National Nuclear Laboratory as part of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority's PhD bursary scheme and Jamie would like to thank them for their involvement.

Well done Jamie!

Chancellor’s Award for Research

Professor Polly Arnold is the recipient of this year's Chancellor's Award for Research.

The award recognises her exceptional work in the chemistry of bonding and reactivity in new compounds.

Established in 2003, the Chancellor’s Awards now reward staff in four categories for teaching, research, impact and showing great potential in early career research. The awards were given at a gala dinner at the Palace of Holyrood House.

Undergraduate Prize Winners

We recently held our prizegiving ceremony for undergraduates, recognising the achievements and excellence of our students. The full list of winners is below.

Well done to everyone!

Class Medals

2017 Chemistry 1 Prize and Crum Brown Medal

Awarded to most distinguished student in Chemistry 1A/C1B

  • Finlay Clark

2017 Chemistry 2 Prize and Class Medal

Awarded for excellence in Chemistry 2

Fellow of the Higher Education Academy

Congratulations to Helen O'Connor, from the Brechin group, who has just completed her Edinburgh Teaching Award (category 2) and is now a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy is awarded to professionals who are able to engage with a broad understanding of effective approaches to learning and teaching support as a key contribution to high quality student learning. Fellows demonstrate: