Contact us

Prizes and Awards

Higher Education Academy Fellow

Recent PhD graduate Nicola Bell has been accepted as a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy as a result of the teaching experience she gained during her doctoral studies in the School of Chemistry.

Nicola was one of the first recipients of the PhD development scholarship in Teaching in Higher Education, a precursor to the Principals development scholarships, which provides for PhD students to gain experience tutoring and lecturing have involvement in designing courses, writing and marking exams. 

RSC Prizes

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones has been awarded the Tilden Prize for Understanding the mechanisms of many organo-metallic catalysed reactions and their extensive applications to organic synthesis.

Professor Euan Brechin has been awarded the Chemistry of Transition Metals Award for his innovative and imaginative work on the synthesis of polymetallic transition metal and lanthanide coordination complexes and the study of their magnetic properties.

Paul Attfield Elected FRS

Professor Paul Attfield has been elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society.

Prof. Attfield is recognised for his distinctive contributions to the experimental understanding of structure in the solid-state, in particular pioneering the use of resonant X-ray scattering to study cation and valence ordering effects and characterising charge-order in strongly correlated systems such as magnetite.

Best School Award

The School of chemistry was voted Best School at last night's EUSA Teaching Awards. The awards are voted for by students, with over 2,500 nominations being received this year. This is the second time in 4 years that Chemistry has come out top.

A great achievement and recognition for the fantastic effort from so many in the School!

Sustainability Awards Success

The School of Chemistry has won Silver awards for our offices and for our labs at the Edinburgh University Sustainability awards which is an improvement on the Bronze awards last year.

A big thanks to the ReAction committee for their efforts!

The Sustainability Awards offers an opportunity for staff and students to make a difference and contribute towards the University becoming more socially responsible and sustainable.

Stoddart Prize 2014

Dr Anne Thielbeer (n??e Hansen) is the winner of the 2014 Stoddart Prize. Anne did her PhD in the Bradley group and is now working in industrial R&D in Austria, on development of inkjet inks for food packaging/medical applications/3D printing.

Stoddart Prize winners are expected not only to have demonstrated superior research accomplishments throughout their time at Edinburgh but they should also have contributed to the life of students within the School of Chemistry and beyond.

Investment Secured for Edinburgh Molecular Imaging

Epidarex Capital, a leading international early-stage life science venture capital fund, has announced a ??4 million investment in Edinburgh Molecular Imaging (EMI). Scottish Enterprise's investment arm, the Scottish Investment Bank, also provided funding. EMI, an Edinburgh BioQuarter spin-out company from the University of Edinburgh, is developing a pioneering Optical Molecular Imaging (OMI) technology with the potential to address unmet needs in the diagnosis and monitoring of several major diseases.