Contact us

Professor Andrew Harrison FRSE

Andrew Harrison

Honorary Professor

Room B11

University of Edinburgh
Joseph Black Building
David Brewster Road

Research Overview

Andrew graduated from Oxford with a degree in chemistry in 1982 then studied for a doctorate in the field of inorganic magnetic materials under the supervision of Peter Day in the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory, Oxford (D.Phil. 1986). He began independent research in the same area, gaining a Royal Society University Research Fellowship (1988) and spending time as a postdoctoral fellow at McMaster University, Canada (1989) before taking up a lectureship in chemistry at the University of Edinburgh in 1993.

His research interests were centred in magnetic materials and the understanding and exploitation of microwave heating in chemistry. He also enjoyed teaching students at every level - though you'd have to ask them if they enjoyed the experience  as much! He was promoted to Professor of Solid State Chemistry in 1999, spent several years as Head of Physical Chemistry and in 2000 he became founding Director of the Centre for Science at Extreme Conditions in Edinburgh before leaving on secondment for the Institut Laue Langevin in Grenoble, as Technical Director (2006), Director of Science (2007) then Director General (2011) of what is the world's leading centre for neutron science.

In 2013 he was appointed CEO of the Diamond Light Source in Harwell, the UK's national synchrotron source. He has chaired EIROForum, the collection of European international infrastructures, serves on advisory bodies for institutes and organisations in Germany, Russia, Japan and the USA and is currently a UK delegate for the ESFRI Council of the European Commission. He served on the subpanel for Chemistry in RAE2008 and REF2014.  

He is married to Alison and has three daughters, all born in Edinburgh, and spends his free time with them skiing, snowboarding and mountain biking. He was elected FRSE in 2002.


  1. A.S. Wills, A. Harrison, C.Ritter and R.I. Smith, 'Magnetic correlations in pure and dilute Jarosites, model Kagomé antiferromagnets with variable coverage of the lattice', Phys. Rev. B 61 (2000) 6156-6169 (113 citations)
  2. A. Harrison, ‘First catch your hare: the design and synthesis of frustrated magnets’, J.Phys.:Cond. Matt. 16 (2004) S553-572 (83 citations)
  3. F. Jiao, J.-C. Jumas, A. Harrison, A.V. Chadwick, W. Kockelmann and P. G. Bruce, Ordered mesoporous Fe2O3 with crystalline walls, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 128 (2006) 5468-5474 (287 citations)
  4. F.Jiao, J.-C. Jumas, M. Womes, A.V. Chadwick, A. Harrison and P.G. Bruce,  Synthesis of Ordered Mesoporous Fe3O4 and ç-Fe2O3 with Crystalline Walls Using Post-Template Reduction/Oxidation, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 128 (2006) 12905 (189 citations)
  5. P. Mendels, F. Bert, M.A. de Vries, A. Olariu, A. Harrison, F. Duc, J.C. Trombe, J.S. Lord, A. Amato, C. Baines, Quantum magnetism in the paratacamite family: Towards an ideal kagome lattice, Phys. Rev. Lett. 98 (2007) 077204 (216 citations)
  6. S.S. Staniland, W. Williams, N. Telling, G. van der Laan, A. Harrison and B. Ward,  Controlled cobalt doping of magnetosomes in vivo, Nature Nanotechnology 3 March (2008) 158-160 (67 citations)
  7. L. Clark, J.C. Orain, F. Bert, M.A. de Vries, F.H. Aidoudi, R.E. Morris, P. Lightfoot, J.S. Lord, M.T.F. Telling, P.Bonville, J.P. Attfield, P. Mendels and A.Harrison, Gapless spin liquid ground state in the S=1/2 vanadium oxyfluoride kagome antiferromagnet [NH4] 2[C7H14N][V7O6F18], Phys. Rev. Lett. 110 (2013) 207208 (29 citations)
  8. H.J. Kitchen, S.K. Vallance, J.L. Kennedy, N.Tapia-Ruiz, L. Carassiti, A.Harrison, A.G. Whittaker, T.D. Drysdale, S.W. Kingman, D.H. Gregory , Modern microwave methods in solid-state materials chemistry: from fundamentals to manufacturing, Chem. Rev. 114 (2014) 1170 (23 citations)
  9. A. Harrison, 'Fractals in Chemistry', Volume 22 in Oxford Chemistry Primers Series (Oxford University Press, 1995)