Contact us

Prizes and Awards

High Pressure Research Award

Dr Stephen Moggach has been awarded this year's European High Pressure Research Group Award for his research on Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs) under extreme conditions.

The award is given each year to a promising young scientist carrying out high pressure research in any scientific discipline. Stephen received it for his work on the modification of the properties of porous materials through compression of their pore size and shape.

Fellowship for Brechin Group Researcher

Congratulations to Dr Jos????? Mart?????nez-Lillo from the Brechin group on being awarded a prestigious Spanish Ram??????n y Cajal (RyC) Fellowship.

These awards are funded by the Spanish Ministry and given to both Spanish and European senior researchers who have developed their research activity outside of Spain for a period of 2 years or more. The RyC contract consists of a period of five years recruitment by a Spanish R&D Institution to support the creation of research positions on a permanent basis.

Sir William Darling Memorial Prize

Corrie Scott, our 3rd year Commonwealth bronze-medal-winning undergraduate, has been awarded this year??????s Sir William Darling Memorial Prize.

This award is given to the student in any given year who, in the opinion of the Principal, has done the most by their conduct, example, scholarship or sport to enhance the reputation of the University. 

This is the second time in the last 2 years a Chemistry student has won this award. Sarah Thomas was a winner in 2013.