Contact us

Picture Archive

The pictures show the staff at the department at various points from the first half of the 20th century.


School of Chemistry 1926-27
Top row: F. McNaughton, R. F. Tait, H. M. G Aitken, J. H. Sinclair, A. Guthrie, J. B. Miles, C. H. M. McCall, J. G. McKay, T. A. Brown, R. B. Mooney
Middle row: I. G. Watson, M. M. Shepherd, A. N. Wilson, C. M. Robertson, J. Mitchell, G. Barclay, W. S. Cunningham, M. Ritchie, W. Dickson, D. Barclay, E. Honde, L. M. Grey
Bottom row: J. Paul, C. C. R. Hutchinson, E. J. M. Anderson, Dr Ludlam, Dr Shoesmith, Dr Kay, Prof. Sir J. Walker, Dr Rule, Mr Bolam, Dr Coutie, Mr. Butler, J. A. Marshall


School of Chemistry 1928-29
Top row: R. B. Reid, A. Wardlaw, G. B. Moorhouse, A. McLean, H. B. Fraser, J. S. Harland, W. D. Burnet, R. G. Scott, A. D. Lees, G. Bowden, S. L. Christie, T. T. Falconer, W. Muir
Top middle row: J. T. Ritchie, J. B. Dymock, D. D. Curr, N. G. Wilson, M.H.A. Dunbar, J. S. Low, J. D. Robertson, B. M. Henderson, I. Reilly, A. J. Atkinson, J. Pratt, T. Kirk, D. H. Simpson
Bottom Middle row: E. B. Ludlam DSc, D. Bain DSc, C. C. Millar PhD, J. B. Shoesmith DSc, J. E. Mackenzie DSC, Sir James Walker FRS, Prof J. P. Kendall, S. A. Kay DSc, H. G. Rule DSc, T. R. Bolam MSc, M. R. Bolam PhD, J. A. V. Butler DSc
Bottom row: C. F. Campbell, G. S. Soutar, J. M. Hill, H. Tod jnr, R. Gaddie, A. Dunbar, A. McLennan, H. G. Reid, N. Campbell BSc


School of Chemistry 1933
Top row: W. Murray, R. A. Sim, S. S. Pillans, W. J. C. Orr, W. M. Leslie, S. B. Thompson, W. A. P. Black
Top middle row: P. Harrower, D. G. Kerr, G. Drever, W. Brockie, J. D. Wood, T. M. Wight, S. C. Gray, W. A. Phillips
Bottom middle row: J. P. Dickson, G. S. Learmonth, F. Traves, M. I. Grant, E. C. Baily, M. Stewart, I. W. Drysdale, A. R. Chambers, F. R. Smith
Bottom row: Dr E. B. Ludlam, Dr M. R. Bolam Dr J. E. Mackenzie, Prof J. P. Kendall, Dr H. G. Rule, Dr D. Bain, Dr T. R. Bolam


School of Chemistry 1938-39
Top row: M. R. Murray, R. W. F. Tait, D. O. MacDougall, W. S. Harley, W. A. G. Nelson, S. J. Veitch, R. E. Linton, I. D. E. Storey
Middle row: Miss J. Muir, Miss M. H. White, J. A. R. Maclean, A. G. Macgregor, P. F. Moss, D. Crowe, T. B. B. Crawford, W. Webster, Miss M. C. Cameron, D. Taylor
Bottom row: Dr T. R. Bolam, Dr Christina Miller, Dr E. B. Ludlam, Dr J. E. Mackenzie, Prof. J. P. Kendall, Dr H. G. Rule, Dr M. Ritchie, Dr M. R. Bolam, Dr E. G. V. Percival


School of Chemistry 1946
Top row: E. B. McCall, W. Lonie, J. K. Herd, L. M. H. Kerr, G. Anderson, A. B. M. Scott, C. G. M. Slesser, J. Y. F. Paterson, J. H. Wilson, J. Tordai
Bottom row: B. M. Green, I. M. Raffan, Dr Miller, Dr Percival, Dr Bain, Prof. Kendall, Dr Ritchie, Dr Campbell, Dr Bolam, J. L. Rayment, D. D. Melvin, E. G. V. Percival